Preserving the archives of early Anglican missionaries in Mombasa, Kenya (EAP1552)

Aims and objectives

The project will digitise archives of earliest Church Missionary Society’s (CMS) establishments in East Africa, which later became Anglican Church. These establishments were Rabai (1846), Kengeleni (1889), Mombasa (1886), Jilore (1890) and Kaloleni (1904) which were established following pioneering work of Missionary Ludwin Krapf. In 1884, Mombasa became headquarters of the newly established Anglican diocese of Eastern Equatorial Africa covering Uganda, Kenya and Tanganyika, constituting the earliest Christian mission station in East and Central Africa. The archives are housed in pastors' offices of these five centres.